Does it make sense to svn rm an old branch after it’s merged back to the
trunk, or not? I’m thinking about doing that so only active branches are
present in my project’s branches/ directory. Of course the old branch
would still be available if you knew the revision before it was deleted.
Or I could make an branches/attic directory and move it under there. Has
any best practice been developed in this area yet?
The Subversion developers tend to do that in our own repository. It’s
nice to be able to see what branches are actually in use just by looking
at the branches/ directory in HEAD, and as you say, you can always go
back to the old versions if you so desire.